Why are we happy…ted talks


Natural happiness is what we get when we get what we wanted, and synthetic happiness is what we make when we don’t get what we wanted. In our society, we have a strong belief that synthetic happiness is of an inferior kind.” (Dan Gilbert)

 

 

One thought on “Why are we happy…ted talks

  1. I had to stop and think a minute about this: do I actually know what I want so that when (or if) it comes I’ll know to be happy?

    Kind of a conundrum, but what I think is happening with me is that I gave up on brass rings and find little joys in things I didn’t even know I might want. Like today I was happy when I cut parsley from my garden that had re-seeded itself from last year. And I was happy when I tasted the parsley in the salad I put it in.

    My son thinks I’m cute/ridiculous because silly little things make me happy. I guess I stopped worrying about being disappointed because I was constantly lowering expectations as a kid. I’m not sure how this appreciation for little things survived, but I’m glad it did.

Leave a Reply

